PDA

View Full Version : Computer nerds..

Bon
13-05-2013, 10:10 AM
I am a confused noob at the moment..
Basically I am going overseas in 3 weeks time, and am looking to get either a laptop or tablet for my travels..
All I need it for, is to get wi-fi, facey/emails, entertainment while flying (eg movies, books, music), backup to keep photos and things on..
I don't need any insane machine to play ground-breaking games on or anything, the cheaper the better.. Looking for decent battery life too..

Not sure if anyone can recommend anything, but I've been to a few places and they have all heavily recommended the exact opposite of each other.. ("Oh you definitely want this tablet"... "No, you definitely want this laptop".. etc..)

q-money
13-05-2013, 01:08 PM
I am a confused noob at the moment..
Basically I am going overseas in 3 weeks time, and am looking to get either a laptop or tablet for my travels..
All I need it for, is to get wi-fi, facey/emails, entertainment while flying (eg movies, books, music), backup to keep photos and things on..
I don't need any insane machine to play ground-breaking games on or anything, the cheaper the better.. Looking for decent battery life too..

Not sure if anyone can recommend anything, but I've been to a few places and they have all heavily recommended the exact opposite of each other.. ("Oh you definitely want this tablet"... "No, you definitely want this laptop".. etc..)

i have a google nexus 10 at the moment, but travelled to europe last year with an ipad and it is invaluable - so much easier than trying to find an internet cafe etc for booking tickets, hotels and shit

i would recommend the nexus over the ipad as you can drag and drop stuff straight to it i.e. movies, music, photos - unlike the ipad where you are stuck using all the iOS software and have to buy everything through itunes