PDA

View Full Version : The Aquarium Thread

sammydog
24-09-2013, 06:56 PM
Any other sad people in here throwing money hand over fist into an aquarium?

I've been running a small marine tank (90L) for about 4 years now, about to upgrade to about 400L.

q-money
24-09-2013, 07:20 PM
400L marine tank eh? SD would be interested in that i reckon

pistolpete
24-09-2013, 07:47 PM
We have a couple of turtles. Had them in a 2x1x1 foot tank and just upgraded to a (free) 4x2x1.5 foot tank. Don't know how many litres that is but they are stoked to be able to have a bit of room to move around

sammydog
24-09-2013, 08:10 PM
Thats a huge change for the turtles. Do you need heat pads or lights in the tank for turtles?

My current tank is 2x1.25x1.5

The new one will be 3x2x2, with a slightly smaller sump, just amassing all the filtration before I pull the trigger on the tank.

pistolpete
24-09-2013, 08:16 PM
Looks good. We had a uv light in the other tank and just had cold water which didn't seem to bother them. With this one we are heating to 18-20 and have a light. Will be getting a heat lamp for them at some stage. We might get one or two more and are looking at getting different types (the two we have are eastern short necks and we were thinking of getting some long necks as well) but need to check if they can mix successfully

pv4
24-09-2013, 08:56 PM
Do you bother with dry spots for the turtles pistol?

I really want a proper tropical tank. Have wanted one for ages. The mrs is heaps against fish tanks though, as she thinks they look tacky.

I currently have a small goldfish tank that has 3 goldfish in it. I've had the same goldfish for just over 3 years now - they haven't grown any more since about 6 months into it. But you can tell they're old because their tails are glorious

Blackmac79
24-09-2013, 09:07 PM